Skip to main content

ESSA’s Potential Impact Webinar

K-12 focused but Adult Ed tentacles

Taking Stock of ESSA’s Potential Impact on Immigrant and English-Learner Students. A webinar with Delia Pompa, Senior Fellow for Education Policy, MPI, and Margie McHugh, Director, National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy, MPI

WHEN: Thursday, January 21, 2016
3:00 P.M. ET / 2:00 P.M. CT / 1:00 P.M. MT / 12:00 P.M. PT (1-hour webinar)

"The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) recently signed into law updates the Elementary and Secondary Education Act and provides a stronger focus on closing the achievement gap between English learners and other students. The law maintains accountability for subgroups of students, including English learners. Most importantly, it builds on that requirement by elevating English proficiency outcomes to be a key element of statewide accountability systems... Learn more about ESSA’s provisions and particular areas of concern for stakeholders who seek to maintain and build policies and practices that support immigrant and English-learner students’ success."

Tags: immigrants

Comments

vkesl's picture

I would like to sign up for the webinar scheduled for Thursday, Jan 21 @3pm titled The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). What do I need to do?  Thank you.

Leecy's picture
One hundred

So sorry. To access the site with registration info, go to http://www.migrationpolicy.org/events/taking-stock-essa-potential-impact-immigrant-and-english-learner-students.

For more information call 202-266-1929 or email events@migrationpolicy.org.

 

Leecy