A Professional Development Opportunity brought to you by LINCS!

Implementing TEACHING ADULTS TO READ - Practitioner Study Circle for Action Research on Teaching Comprehension! 

This Study Circle series focuses on moving from knowledge about research to the applying evidence-based practices in instruction. In this component, we will explore strategies for teaching Comprehension in reading instruction, share lesson plans, and debrief experiences in using them with different student groups. All participants are also encouraged to join LINCS TAR Community of Practices (COP) for on-going implementation support.

This program emphasizes a comprehensive and ultimately integrated approach to teaching reading. Completion of all 4-component modules is strongly encouraged. Certificates of completion are available when instructors have completed the introduction module, all 4-component modules, and submitted finished professional portfolios. It is a great resource for other full- and part-time instructors and especially to prepare instructors who will become reading resource people for colleagues!

The Study Circle consists of 1 Introduction webinar (or new Study Circle participants) and 4 webinar sessions with implementation tasks to be completed between sessions. The series will begin with the Introduction Session on Wednesday, April 2, 2014.   The four Comprehension Sessions will be on Wednesdays: April 9, 16, 23, 30. All sessions are at the same time, starting at 15 minutes past the hour. That is (by time zone) 2:15-4:00 PM Eastern, 1:15-3:00 PM Central, 12:15-2:00 PM Mountain, and 11:15 AM-1:00 PM Pacific. Registration deadline: 5 pm on Monday, March 31.

The Introduction webinar outlines the goals, research premises, framework, activities, resources and participant expectations of the program for each module. This single session introduction module is a pre-requisite for subsequent component modules – i.e. participants may enroll in any component module, as long as they have at least once been through the introduction module. If you have not taken this session, or have and wish to do so again, please note that when registering.

The study circle is led by Subject Matter Expert, Shash Woods, of Highline Community College and Seattle University who has 17 years of teaching Adult Education, and over 14 years of leading teacher training. Your facilitator will be Kristin Ockert, LINCS staff with 12 years of experience in teaching Adult Education, and over 14 years in creating and supporting professional development programs for ABE instructors and staff.

For registration or questions, please contact:

Paul Heavenridge, Director - LINCS Region 4 Regional Professional Development Center

EMAIL: pheaven@literacyworks.org          CELL: 510-206-9994.