Having students read out loud in adult literacy classrooms

In k-12 education, this practice is called round robin reading, and it is where a teacher has students take turns reading out loud in front of the class. I am curious about how common this practice is in adult reading classes, the pedagogical purpose of it, and the pros/cons of this practice. 

Comments

I hope this may be helpful. I do use this practice, and I'll describe how I do so and what I see as the pros & cons. I am an ELL teacher with adults; my ELL students range from high-beginning to advanced proficiency in English.  

SO....  I like to "invite" my students to take advantage of the fact that here we all are together for the very purpose of helping them practice and improve their English (or if one teaches native English speakers, then for practicing and improving their reading fluency), and this class is the ideal place to give it a try, make mistakes, and get help and coaching! I point out that when I myself read something out loud--to my husband, perhaps--I typically slow down a bit from my conversational speed of speech, so that my listener can very clearly hear each word and can also take in the information without the advantage of seeing the words in print. So I remind my students to take a breath and then take their time; they should be sure not to rush through the text but instead make sure to read/pronounce everything that a listener needs to hear as well as not to add things that are not in the text. My students have a tendency to both add in and overlook articles, word endings (-s, -ed, -ing), and prepositions, in addition to anticipating the wrong word based on the first couple of letters. (Sometimes they need repeated encouragement to 'breathe, breathe--slow down...' even when they aren't necessarily reading fast so much as carelessly.)