English Practice Partner Training Help!

Hi Everyone!

I'm a job developer working with refugees out here in Los Angeles. The wait times on our Free ESL classes have been incredibly long as of late, and to help supplement this I am working to set up an in house volunteer English Practice Partner program. I do not have experience in teaching English and was hoping that you could recommend some resources that could help me set up this program and/or help me train volunteers to do this effectively. Many Thanks for any help or ideas that you can offer!

-Jacey Dapper

Comments

Thanks for starting the discussion, Jacey. We have the same need at the community-based program here in Colorado where I teach academic-prep ESL. And it looks like I'm soon going to be recruiting, training, and maintaining our volunteer group. 

I'm going to start by looking at our program's accountability requirements.  I know some grants require programs to train volunteers in a certain way, for a certain number of hours. We don't have that kind of accountability at my program, but I still want to check with my Board of Directors to ensure we all have the same outcomes in mind. Then I'll probably write up a summary of the project, with measurable objectives (including number of volunteers we're aiming for), volunteer job description(s), and a timeline. For me, it's going to be important to have a plan.

RE: Recruiting. We have a list of people who've dropped in for various reasons in the recent past, and I'm going to be in contact with them. I plan to send out a mailer -- postcard, probably -- and follow that up with a phone call. Calling to let someone know that a mailing is on its way makes a strong introduction for the request, so the phone calls have to be timed right. I prefer a hard copy mailing, but emails would probably work, too.