Facebook, Websites and WhatsApp combination

Hello, everyone, this is a very timely discussion and I would like to briefly mention some observations from my own experiences.

In my program that teaches adult English learners, especially Spanish speakers, I have been using lessons on mobile devices for a few months, accessing Facebook, Pumarosa and other sites, and “teaching” through classes on WhatsApp, which is very popular.

The 24/7, 365 availability of lessons is very appealing to people who are usually very busy.

I think that a focus on a mobile devices in connection to workplace adult education is also a good way to approach adult education in general, especially ESL.

A large percentage of people I teach in classes work in a wide variety of jobs, one way or the other. Learning English for practical purposes and for employment is the main motivation.

People who have been trained in various professions in Mexico, for example, find that they are not qualified to work in their area because of a lack of English skills. So connecting workplace skills to Basic English skills is a beneficial addition.

Making the lessons available via smart phones and WhatsApp is, as one student said, “the next step in the evolution of education”.

I also would like to mention that the use of mobile devices is not just a topic for discussion among Formal Adult Educators, but is also something that can be used quite effectively in the Nonformal or community-based sector. Eventually all agencies that provide adult education classes will be able to form a working network, that includes classes in a church basement, at libraries, community centers, etc.

Forming partnerships with companies can be supplemented by offering a variety of classes in many kinds of jobs, from laundry workers to swap meet vendors.

I look forward to reading what others have experienced.

Paul Rogers

Comments