When do you and when don't you give the answer to your learners?

As an instructor, I struggle with when do I or don't I give the answer to my learners. I was curious what others think. Brooke

Comments

Brooke, you share a very common question of when to provide an answer and when to continue to try to string the learner to discovering the answer. I find that I very often listen to a student request for an answer and start thinking of questions or models I can offer that will help the student remember any concepts or procedures he or she might feel are relevant.

When offering questions,I adjust my questions to hit at general steps that might need to be accomplished. These steps are often in English language (Algorithms) rather than math language. Once we are on the right track, I bring back in the math lingo as the student starts finding success. A simple example might be that a student shares, "We need to get those bottom numbers the same somehow." I may respond, "Why would we want those bottom numbers the same? What does that even mean?". If the student's response indicates that he or she understand what the denominator really means, then I might restate their statement with the math language, "OK, so we want to get both fractions to have the same denominators?". If the student was not able to conceptually share what those bottom numbers are or why we might want them to be the same, we have identified some critical information that we need to solidify and we back up accordingly. Effectively, my questions act as a sort of formative assessment sequence to better help me understand what concepts or procedures are poorly understood so I have a foundation on which to offer questions that build up from that foundation.