Resistance to Using Technology among Adult Learners

When I found out about email as a college instructor, way back then, I felt swished into outer space, acquiring special powers to use and share with my ESL students. I immediately scheduled a weekly session with my students, got them all email accounts, and had them email each other for 20-30 minutes in the language lab. Talk about learning to communicate in English! I could hear the giggles and “Ahs" the whole time. I giggled, too!

When multimedia tools emerged, I went from outer space right through and into heaven. Later, as a teacher trainer, I came across an intriguing challenge: instructor resistance. I thought college instructors would jump with joy when shown what technology could do. Not!

I reflect on this phenomenon all of the time. Why do many instructors resist using technology? My questions go as follows:

1. Is it fear of not knowing how to use digital media?
  2. Is it the time it takes to learn and use something new?
  3. Is it just the perception that technology is taking over human initiatives?
  4. It is lack of access to easy tutorials and learning opportunities?
  5. Is it the perception that "There is an ocean of information with thousands of tools out there, and I'll never learn it all. It's too much for me to handle?"

I've been to banquets where I was initially paralyzed by the number of scrumptious food options before me. I had no idea of where to start. I didn't want to fill up on something only to find I didn't have room for something better. Is that it?

What are your thoughts? Leecy

Comments

Leecy,

I frequently hear teachers mention reasons 1, 2, and 5. In addition, I also know that these are concerns: