Principles of Second Language Teaching: Planning, Implementing and Managing Instruction Activity

I am new to the discussion board. I am inputting my Lesson Planning activity for ESOL 04. 

This is an upcoming lesson I would like to initiate in my classroom.  Before I start I want to share that I work within the Prison system. Where I am, there is no student access to the internet, I have limited resources also. So, a lot of what I do is improvised and spontaneous. However, I do value structure and planning. The students have shared with me some of their difficulties outside prison when it comes to not knowing how to speak, read, or write English. I use their input to help me set up classroom lessons and goals. One difficulty shared with me involved ordering food at a restaurant. Many ESL students want to order a hamburger, but don't understand specific vocabulary associated with the process of ordering it the way they want it. For example: The waitstaff asks "may I take your order?" Student replies "I want hamburger." Waitstaff asks "how would you like your hamburger?" The student at this point doesn't understand what is being asked. Another example is when ordering eggs. Student doesn't understand the vocabulary of over easy, sunnyside up, scrambled, etc. So the goal of this lesson is for the students to learn the vocabulary, how to read a menu, and how to make an order with the waitstaff. 

Title of lesson plan:  Going to a Restaurant

Level of learners: Multi-level, Majority of class speak English well but struggle with vocabulary comprehension. 

Real-life contexts that learners will encounter: Going to English speaking restaurants students encounter difficulties in verbal and written communication between waitstaff and themselves. Reading the menu and understanding certain words related to how food is prepared is difficult.