Struggling Readers/ How can we determine the level of intervention needed?

I am trying to find an effective way to determine what kind of intervention an adult learner needs if they are struggling with reading.  

In my experience, there are four general levels of need: 1) those who need to start with phonemic awareness instruction; 2) those who need a thorough curriculum that gives direct, explicit instruction on reading and spelling (such as students with dyslexia); 3) others who need to learn these principles but can move along at a faster rate (needing a less intensive curriculum); and 4), those who mainly need vocabulary work along with some reading comprehension strategies.

I am searching for an assessment that will help me better distinguish between groups 2 and 3. Do you all have any recommendations?

Comments

Janet, thanks for asking. Knowing what a student needs is certainly a first step in planning instruction. I am not a great proponent of determining needs based on assessments. Even if we don't call them tests, students perceive them as such and can easily fail to connect to instruction. Yet, there are very simple assessments, such a the Fry Oral Reading Test, where learners simply start reading words. In that assessment, students read the underlined words aloud, and continue until they make five or more errors in a group of 25 words. This indicates a frustration level, and instruction should begin on the previous list. I've used this list successfully with adults. You can review a GUIDE to this practice with Fry word lists readily available on the Web.

Rather, than using assessments, I am a strong supporter of interviewing learners to get to know them better on a one-to-one basis. Having them read a list of words or a short passage during an interview would be very appropriate, in my view. In the process, the interviewer could notice reading challenges.