First Language Literacy

Hello,

What do you use to determine the literacy level of a learners' first language?  I am curious to know if anyone does anything in addition to asking the learner directly.  I am new to the ESL literacy world, and I'm glad to be learning from everyone in this group!

Comments

Hi Helen, Thanks for posting this important question. As many of us have learned, asking a learner about her/his education background does not always provide us with the information we need.

Our adult education colleagues in Florida have developed native language screening tools in 29 different languages, which are available for free download.These colleagues have also made an administration manual available, which would likely need to be adapted for different contexts.

Other members may have designed strategies for addressing this need. It would be great to hear from others on this issue.

Cheers, Susan Finn Miller

Moderator, English Language Acquisition

Susan and group members, I am curious to know what the purpose of finding out the literacy level of ESL students is. What kinds of strategies are used in the case of low literacy students? As we all know, the literacy of ESL students plays an important part in their learning of English. Why can we not, therefore, include L1 literacy classes for those students in a Pre-ESL program? Or at least include bilingual support for those students? Many community centers in Non-Formal programs offer L1 Literacy, ESL, GED and Citizenship for the diverse immigrant communities. Is it possible for the Formal, Community College Adult Ed programs to incorporate this approach as well?