"Reading and Math Disabilities: Two Sides of the Same Coin?"

Hello colleagues, Have teachers observed that some learners who have challenges with reading also have difficulty with math? How would you explain this connection? What kind of instructional support do you provide to students in reading? How about for math? Do you intentionally link the two in your teaching?

Christina Samuels takes up this issue in a recent Ed Week blog.

Thanks for letting us know your thoughts.

Cheers, Susan Finn Miller

Moderator, Teaching & Learning CoP

Comments

Hi, Susan & Others -

This is an interesting read, and worthwhile discussion to have as a community.   I have limited experience working with English Language Learners who either have a documented learning disability, or who identify/present as having learning challenges in reading and math.  One basic math strategy that works with struggling learners is explicitly teaching that equations and inequalities are like sentences, and each requires specific elements to be complete.  For example, just as a sentence needs a subject, verb and predicate, an equation needs values and either =,  >, <, or another inequality symbol to be complete.   Reviewing these required elements can help learners reflect on their work across content areas, and see structural similarities. 

Another way to approach teaching struggling learners in both domains is using cloze activities, where elements of a sentence or equation are left for learners to 'solve'.  These are used a lot in ESL classes, but can be equally as useful for native speakers who struggle with content.  Cloze exercises, when carefully structured by teachers, can help learners focus on patterns across problem/sentence types, and develop confidence in working towards longer-term goals.

What are some other strategies you use to link math and language arts content for your learners?

Mike Cruse

Disabilities and Equitable Outcomes Moderator

michaelcruse74@gmail.com