Introducing myself...

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the group and endeavored to find the "introduce yourself" discussion thread but gave up looking!  I'm glad to see this is an active group.  

I'm an ESL teacher for adults in Northern Virginia and have just started to teach a workplace communication class.  Rather belatedly, I've decided to create an extension project for each of my learners to work on at their own pace on what I'm calling a Career Warm-Up.  I'm hoping students can be engaged in the process of taking an inventory of their English language/hard/soft skills, education, experience and values and develop some 5-10 year goals on how they'd like to develop their career pathway.   I'm interested in developing a checklist, some guidance and some language scaffolding to make more resources accessible to my learners.  If anyone else in engaged in such an activity or has developed similar resources, I'd love to hear from you!   Any direction or links would also be greatly appreciate.   I'm new to this career-oriented language teaching and want to ensure a success.

Ellen 

Ellen Clore-Patron, ESL Teacher

Arlington Education and Employment Program (REEP)

Literacy Council of Northern Virginia

ellenpatron@gmail.com

Comments

Hi, Ellen -

Thanks for your introduction, and welcome!  The idea of Career Warm-ups is a great one.  A few ideas that come to mind are The Learn to Earn Toolkit and Preparing English Learners for Work and Career Pathways.  These are good places to start seeing what is already out there.