Teaching English Using Smartphones

I have been teaching English for over 25 years and during that time I have written many lessons and made CDs and DVDs. My course is bilingual and focuses a lot on phonetics.

I have also developed two free websites - see below.

These websites are easily available on any phone so students can study anytime, any place. No more excuses for not doing homework!!!

In addition there is a thumb drive which fits into a smart phone as well as a computer. I use one  that has 32 gigs. Many students pay for plans that do not provide much memory, so the “gadget” can be a great help.

I also created several WhatsApp groups for people who want to be in contact with me and ask questions.

Plus on my facebook page I set up some groups to learn English, see below.

Songs are an important part of my course, and I can include the students’  favorite songs in English with the lyrics superimposed like a Karaoke. Songs are a great way to teach/learn  new vocabulary, pronunciation, listening and grammar while walking, driving, on the bus, etc. - any time, any place.

I believe that the smartphone is the most important and useful educational tool that a teacher could incorporate into ESL - and other -classes, especially for low-income, working adults who are not able to attend classes in a community college.

Smartphones are also a great way to be introduced to the use of technology, serving as an  important method to bridge the ‘digital divide”.

Paul Rogers

websites=

Inglesconprofepablo.com

Pumarosa.com - with voice so that the students just need to raise the volume, click on the icon of an ear and repeat two or three times.

Facebook Groups

PRONUNCIATION: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1435280100038703/

READING: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1435280100038703/

SONGS: https://www.facebook.com/groups/392217600909300/

Comments