Career pathways

I'm a GED Instructor at Montgomery College in Maryland.  I want to share my experience working with one of my D.L. students.

I'm going to name him Smithy. he wors as a mechanic at a major hybrid auto manufacturer agency. I used his experience and love of his work to create a plan for him to improve his work as well as to get a a job with more responsibilities. We both explore his needs and come up with a plan which include additional learning in Math, specific in improving his knowledge in the 4 basic operations (addition, substantiation, multiplication and division . Also, become more proficient in decimals, fractions in percents. This will help him in precision mechanic work as well as on the electric circuits components in the vehicle. Also, we had to work harder ion his English comprehension, understanding what he read and follow the instructions provided by the manufacturing standards and  specifications. He would bring examples of the day to day work he and his team had to do. We chose those tasks that he could handle, being easy ones at first but increasing in challenging as he progressed with his training. He had to spent extra time in learning the multiplication tables because these were the most difficult for him. Slowly he start mastering this and he helping become more sure of himself. I enjoyed this plan because I used his already acquired experience, which it was not foreign to him. He enjoyed his work so every time he learned to do additional tasks he become more involved. As an extra benefit, he was able to complete and pass his GED exam. 

Comments

Thanks for sharing this anecdote of your work with this student, Alfredo.  It's great to hear these types of success stories about contextualizing instruction for learners.  Where there any circumstances that made it easier to contextualize the skills he needed to develop? 

Best,

Mike Cruse

Career Pathways Moderator

michaelcruse74@gmail.com 

Greetings to All,