Educator vs. Personal Accounts on Zoom and Google Classroom

Hello everyone,

I have been investigating options for using Zoom and Google Classroom. I am an ESL instructor of non-credit courses in a community education department which operates out of a community college, but we are not given the same access to technology or platforms that the rest of the community college has. I set up a personal Zoom account, the free basic version. I am now setting up a Google Classroom account, also the free basic personal version.

My question is, does anyone have experience in a community education program, in applying for or getting access to the free educator versions of Zoom or Google Classroom? I would love to have the advanced features you get with the educator accounts. I am not in admin in my department, but I have been messaging someone who is our IT contact. He is not sure either how to go about this or if we qualify.

If anyone else has the free personal Google Classroom account, I'd love to share information about how you use it, what features you like, etc. 

I appreciate any information anyone may have to share.

Thanks,

Jennifer Kluempen

ESL Instructor

Trenton, NJ

Comments