Online Course: Introduction to Workforce Preparation Activities and Employability Skills

This thread is connected to the online course, Introduction to Workforce Preparation Activities and Employability Skills, freely available anytime, anywhere in the LINCS Learning Portal.

• Were there skills which were not explicitly included in the workplace preparation activities discussed? Note that there is no “right” answer here. Consider the alignments and intersections between the different skill sets.
  • Many teachers are probably already integrating some or all of the skills and competencies of workforce preparation activities into classroom instruction. Reflect on your own experiences and the resources you have used to plan your curriculum. Have you used any of the resources presented in this course? Are there others you have used? Which ones seem to be the most effective? How do you know? 

Comments

I am new to this arena. I have learned the importance of workplace skills and how they are integrated in to the curriculum. I am new to this type of lesson planning.

Session 1 did a good job of outlining the skill sets that should be taught for workforce preparation.  I am an ABE teacher, so I don't deal with many of these sets directly, although I do reference them quite often in discussions.

I love the idea of integrating employability skills with life and academic skills. I feel it is a full range of knowledge that students can gain. This also helps to retrain some individuals going back out into the work world after retirement.