Learning Disabilities in Corrections Education

Colleagues, 

I would like to begin a discussion about learning disabilities in the corrections environment.  The information indicates,

More than two-thirds of the 750,000 incarcerated individuals who reported having a disability reported a cognitive disability, the largest of the six disability groups. This represents 20 percent of state and federal prisoners and 31 percent of jail inmates.

What are some of the learning disabilities that we see in the classroom?  Check out the information on different types of Learning Disabilities and share your strategies for providing inclusive classroom instruction to help our students. 

I'd love to hear your thoughts.  
Kathy 

@Kathy_Tracey

Comments

One of my biggest challenges in this area is identification of those inmates with known learning disabilities. Our system does not show that they have been previously labelled and as a regular education teacher, I do not have access to find out if the Department of Education ever had them labelled. Because of this, I have several on my enrollment that are clearly learning disabled, which, as a teacher for several years, I am able to identify within just a few conversations with them. However, without the labels (that I hated as a public school teacher, by the way), I am also not able to provide them with the necessary accommodations for testing or education. If identification was easier within the system, these students would be better served by our education system.

Pam, 

Thanks for your insight. Certainly, the difficulty in accessing specific assessment accomodations when a learning disability is not formally diagnosed, or there is no record of the formal diagnosis, is very difficult. I'd like to hear from others about how they seek accommodations for learners in corrections.