Introduction to the NEW Civics Education and Citizenship Forum

Hello, hello!  My name is Jennifer Gagliardi, and I pleased and proud to introduce myself as the moderator for the LINCS Civics Education and Citizenship.  I have worked in adult education since 2001 as an ESL/Citizenship instructor at Milpitas Adult School.  I deeply believe that the development of multiple literacies--linguitsic, cultural, civic, employment, health, financial, digital--are critical the education of the whole adult.

As a subject matter expert for the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network, I present on the intersection of technology and civics.  As a teacher and trainer, I leverage technology to engage, enhance, and extend the EL Civics classroom curriculum so that adult learners can not only meet their program's objectives, but balance work/life obligations and achieve their civic responsibilities.  The goal: full participation in our democratic society.  

LINCS is is a great place to meet, share, challenge, and extend our expertise in the area of Civics Education and Citizenship.  There is so much to discuss--where shall we begin?  Introduce yourself and share any ideas, questions, and concerns.  I look forward to working together.  Let's get started!

Comments

Thanks so much for the welcome.  I look forward to learning more about the adult education programs in Pennsylvania.  Do you have suggestions for online discussion or presentations in the CEC forum?

Welcome!  I am originally from Chicago but was whisked away to California.  Every year, I would come back and visit family in Kane and du Page counties.  I see that you work with genealogy--have you ever used the USCIS or the National Archives genealogy resources?