The Science of Reading: A Hot Topic in Education

Thanks to a few recent journalistic endeavors, the edusphere is aflutter with discussions about The Science of Reading. Doing a quick search for those terms returns 4.9 million results, but a great place to start is a list of resources assembled by APM Reports.

What struggles are most common for your adult learners in relation to reading? What strategies have you found are most helpful?

Join the discussion below!

Comments

Thanks for beginning this intriguing discussion Susan!

When I first started in adult education, I was a librarian teacher. I handed out books to students with the understanding that if they worked in the right book, they would learn to read better. I gave assignments to read certain pages and answer the questions. If you asked me what I was doing to teach students to read, I could not tell you. 

What works with helping adult students learn to read well is evidence-based reading instruction. We see this in adult basic education with the STAR (STudent Achievement in Reading) initiative. STAR, geared toward intermediate level students (grade level equivalents 4 to 9 - the largest segment of most adult ed programs), emphasizes:

• Using results from diagnostic assessments of the four components of reading (alphabetics, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension) to plan as well as monitor the effectiveness of instruction
  • Direct and explicit teaching methods to carry out instruction
  • Methods and materials that engage learners and help them to recognize the relevance of instruction for their strengths and needs in reading

Evidence-based methods and materials for teaching intermediate-level readers include:

• Alphabetics:
    • systematic introduction of relevant patterns (e.g., syllables and affixes) in short, frequent lessons
    • oral reading of text that provides opportunity to apply taught patterns
  • Fluency: