ABE/GED Math comprehensive curriculum

I am relatively new to teaching ABE/Math at all levels, and am trying to re-vamp my curriculum during this transition to the new GED test.  I have been finding a lot of information on incorporating manipulatives into the curriculum.  I was also introduced to the concept of the Concrete-Representational-Abstract continuum.  I would like to teach along this continuum and help my students embed math concepts on a deeper level than before.  I no longer want to simply teach the algorithm and have my students learn it by rote.

Has anyone found a good comprehensive set of curriculum around this?  I've seen a description of the EMPower Curriculum developed by the TIAN group.  Has anyone used that?   What else?  Funding new curriculum is part of the struggle, so I need to keep low costs in mind.

I'm finding bits and pieces out there, and want to create a clear progression that touches on all subjects in all levels.   What are the rest of you using/doing?

Thank you,

Sue P.

Comments