How are adult learners doing on the new GED?

GED Prep Colleagues,

From the Ed Surge e-newsletter, 9/11/2014:

The new GED, launched this past January as a for-profit partnership between Pearson and nonprofit American Council on Education, is creating some uneasy waves in the testing world. Politico reports that while the old GED's pass rate hovered around 72%, the new exam is aligned to Common Core and is deemed much harder. Not surprisingly, it's averaging a 53% pass rate (out of 105,000 students who have taken it through the end of July). But CT Turner, senior director of state accounts for the GED Testing Service, is optimistic: about 80% of people who fail the new math section "are just two to three right answers away from passing," Turner said.

If you are a GED teacher or GED program administrator, how do these pass rates fit with your experience?

David J. Rosen

djrosen123@gmail.com

Comments

I'm a GED instructor.  So far my student pass rates are probably about 50%.  However, most of my students are "afraid" to take the exam. 

I am a teacher in Iowa and we have adopted the HiSet.  Has anyone seen any articles/information on HiSet pass rates this year?  It will be interesting to compare this to the GED 2014 and previous GED.

Although I have not yet come across pass rate data from states, it would be interesting to hear from those in states who administer the Hi-Set.  Based on an article I saw from April,the following states have adopted the Hi-Set:

CA*     IA     LA     ME     MA     MO     MT     NV*     NH     NJ*     TN*     WY*

*  multiple tests approved

And the following states are procuring the assessment:  FL and WA.

I'm sure that more states have approved the assessment since April.  I hope list members will share data with this group as it becomes available.

Gail Cope, SME, LINCS Program Management Group