Skip to main content

Teaching Adults to Read Study Circle for Vocabulary Instruction - Registration Announcement!

A FREE Professional Development Opportunity brought to you by LINCS

TEACHING ADULTS TO READ!

Practitioner Study Circles: Research to Practice for Teaching the four Reading Components:  FLUENCY, ALPHABETICS, VOCABULARY, COMPREHENSION

WEB-BASED OPTIONS FOR CONTINUING STUDY:  TEACHING ADULTS TO READ

Facilitated webinars for adult educators who want to learn – and practice - more about assessing and teaching the components of reading. Please share with colleagues! Please share with colleagues!

Description: This study circle series focuses in-depth on implementation of the reading components into personal instruction practice. Meeting in interactive webinars once a week for a month, teachers form a cohort community and together explore research-based strategies for teaching and learning reading with struggling ABE and ELL readers. Participants develop a Participatory Action Research (PAR) plan as part of the study circle, in which they design research-based reading activities, implement them, and reflect on their meaning for student learning and their own professional growth in instructional practice. Participants are supported to develop a portfolio to document what they have learned.

The facilitator, Kristin Ockert, and Subject Matter Expert, Christie Knighton, are Adult Education instructors and Professional Development specialists with decades of experience.

Schedule: Each series starts with Teaching Adults to Read: Introduction to Effective Reading Instruction Research. This is a single session offered quarterly the week prior to the start of a component series, which participants must take at least once before participation in a component series. Component series are comprised of 4 sessions, one week apart.

State-tailored Sessions: Sessions tailored to specific states can be negotiated for a timeframe and schedule that suits the needs of their participants. Each session is 2 hours long.

Open Sessions:  Sessions that are open to participants nationwide take place on the same day and time slot each week,Fridays, by time zone -  12:15-2:15 PM Eastern, 11:15AM-1:15 PM Central, 10:15AM-12:15 PM Mountain, 9:15 AM-11:15 AM Pacific, 7:15 – 9:15 AM Hawaii.

Teaching Adults to Read: Vocabulary             Introduction session April 8, 2016; Component sessions April 15, 22, 29, and May 6. Registration closes April 4th.

Schedule for future TAR Study Circles for teaching Fluency, Alphabetics, and Comprehension TBD.

Process Each component series may be taken as a separate set of modules, or all of them may be taken to qualify the participants to receive a Teaching Adults To Read Series Certificate of Completion from OCTAE, US Dept of Education.

For registration go to:  TAR Study Circles Registration or paste http://goo.gl/forms/XKXzj9N9Ej into your browser.

Questions, please contact: Paul Heavenridge, Executive Director of LINCS Region 4 Regional Professional Development Center. EMAIL: pheaven@literacyworks.org

 

Inline image 1

randomness