TEACHING PRONUNCIATION - PHONICS

I have been teaching ESL to Spanish speaking adults for about 25 years. I focus on pronunciation from the first class for beginners and usually review pronunciation for intermediate and advanced students.

I do not use the IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) because it takes too long to learn, but instead I developed a  phonetic method based upon how Spanish speakers would write words phonetically.  For example, book – buk, attention – ah ten shan’.

I concentrate on "problem sounds" such as:
1. G AND J –George and Jim jump in the garage 
2. V – Virginia is very intelligent
3. H – Harry has a red hat
4. SHORT I- Jim swims in the river
5. SHORT U-Uncle Harry’s umbrella is under the bus
     And I include a special section on words beginning with S followed by  consonant because Spanish speakers have a tendency to add an e at the beginning, and at the  same time I teach the silent e at the end of words rule. Tongue twisters are very popular.

Most of these sounds can be found in the lessons on the alphabet, the numbers, greetings and in Cognates.

Learning to spell, counting, adding, subtracting, telling time, greetings and salutations, etc., are the first lessons I teach.
I demonstrate how to make the sounds as comically as I can, because after all, English is a very funny language! Actually, English may be the most difficult language to pronounce in the world!! So I have found it necessary and ..even rewarding and fun!...to use humor.

And then I "weave" pronunciation lessons or drills into nearly all my classes for at least three months. 
At a certain point I teach ’confusing words" (tree, three) in a quiz show kind of approach.
I have found that students learn to pronounce English fairly well after a month or so using this approach. 
And I have observed that when a student learns to be comfortable with English pronunciation, then that student also begins to learn quickly.