Using Thoughtful Grouping Strategies

One of the strategies that I have found to be useful is an attempt to assist the learner to feel comfortable in a classroom setting and less threatening about sharing their reading ability. I believe that this promotes a feeling of community and togetherness.

Comments

Classroom setting is the environment that students will learn and develop the skills of language. It is very important for the learners to have an adequate place equipped with all the educational aids.Generally speaking, classroom setup can affect the learners,attitudes toward and habits of learning and enhancing new techniques.Thanks

Hello.  I will never forget my experience with a student from Vietnam, when I first started teaching ESL, which was about 20 years ago.  I was teaching at a community college.  She arrived early for every class; she had a notebook, and about three sharpened pencils (she reminded me of when I was a student in a community college; not because I had three sharpened pencils, but because I was 18 years old and didn't understand what was going on with the middle-aged women who came early, with sharpened pencils, and asked questions a minute before class was to end.)  She seemed so eager to be in class.  About a week later, she stopped coming to class.  I called her phone number.  Her husband, who was born in the U.S.A., told me that she had never been in a classroom before.  In Vietnam, her classes were held outside, under a tree, with no books, paper, or anything else other than a teacher.  He said that she just felt so uncomfortable, being in a classroom, with walls around her, that she needed to stop coming to class.  I felt so bad.  I don't know what I would have done differently, given what I know now; the class was welcoming and nonjudgmental; maybe today if I encountered such a situation, I would find another way.